New Zealand Fashion Week 2012

by theeducatedderelicts

It’s been a week of angry, skinny, stomping girls; a week of fantastic fashion, both on the catwalk and on the street; a week of fun, of frivolous discussion. New Zealand Fashion Week has come and gone for another year, and I must say I’ve been impressed. Despite a couple of notable absences from major players in the NZ fashion industry (WORLD) there was plenty of talent filling the gaps.

Trend-wise it appears that pastels, clashing prints, jumpsuits, and exaggerated silhouettes are here to stay for another season. I must say, I’m pleased on all accounts. Some were reworked, and in doing so improved: liam blurred the ever-present pastel mauve into a dusky, bruised grey that I hope to get my hands on in six months time.  Zambesi and Salasai have both played with drop-waist suit jackets that I look forward to see on the taller residents of this city.

I was fortunate enough to attend the RUBY | liam show, the first of the week. I was hugely impressed by the strength of the liam collection, especially. The colors, the movement they drew out of the fabrics, and the subtle cut-out details all made for a compelling start to the week. RUBY, the more trend-driven counterpart, came to the game with a playful collection reminiscent of modern-grunge.

Here are my favourites from the week that was.

Taylor

Miramoda

Salasai

liam

Ingrid Starnes

All photos via nzfashionfiles.com

